PDF Tools Comparison

FileConvertLab, Smallpdf, iLovePDF, PDF24, Sejda and Adobe Acrobat online compared: file size and page limits, usage caps, registration, paid plans, OCR, API and ads, with sources.

FeatureFileConvertLabSmallpdfiLovePDFPDF24 ToolsSejdaAdobe Acrobat online
Free file size limit100 MB115 MB5Limited7Unlimited1150 MB12100 MB15
200 MB for PDF to Word and PDF to PowerPoint
Free page limit20 pages1
100 pages with a free account
Not stated6800 pages7
800-page file accepted, 1,600-page file rejected
Unlimited1150 pages12Not stated15
Free usage limit50 credits / day1
light operations cost 1 credit, OCR and AI 5, video 10
2 tasks / day6
free plan shows a daily download limit per tool
Limited7Unlimited113 tasks / hour12Limited15
one free use per tool per 30 days without signing in
Registration for free useNo1No5No8No11No13Limited15
sign in for repeated use
Paid plans start at$3 / month1CHF 10 / month (billed yearly)6€5 / month (billed yearly)7No11
no paid plan; ad-supported
€5.50 / week13
7-day web pass; €8.50 per month recurring
$19.99 / month (billed yearly)16
Paid file size limit500 MB1
1 GB on Premium Plus
Unlimited6Unlimited7Not stated11500 MB13Not stated16
OCRYes2Limited6
free plan lists PDF OCR with a daily download limit
Yes9Yes11Yes13
up to 100 pages on paid plans
Yes17
APIYes3Not stated6Yes10Not stated11Yes14
HTML-to-PDF API
Yes18
Ads on the siteYes4
Google AdSense, only with cookie consent
Not stated6Yes7
Premium is advertised as ad-free
Yes11Not stated13Not stated15

Sources

  1. fileconvertlab.com/info/pricing — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  2. fileconvertlab.com/ocr — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  3. fileconvertlab.com/developers/api — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  4. fileconvertlab.com/legal/privacy — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  5. smallpdf.com/pdf-to-word — measured by FileConvertLab on Jan 31, 2026; read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  6. smallpdf.com/pricing — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026; measured by FileConvertLab on Jan 31, 2026
  7. ilovepdf.com/pricing — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026; measured by FileConvertLab on Feb 1, 2026
  8. ilovepdf.com/pdf_to_word — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  9. ilovepdf.com/ocr-pdf — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  10. developer.ilovepdf.com — measured by FileConvertLab on Feb 1, 2026
  11. tools.pdf24.org/en/ — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  12. sejda.com/pdf-to-word — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  13. sejda.com/pricing — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  14. sejda.com/developers — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  15. helpx.adobe.com/document-cloud/faq/try-acrobat-online-services.html — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  16. adobe.com/acrobat/pricing.html — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  17. adobe.com/acrobat/online/ocr-pdf.html — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026
  18. developer.adobe.com/document-services/apis/pdf-services/ — read from the vendor page on Sep 27, 2026

How this table was built

Every cell comes from one of two places: a statement on the vendor's own pricing or tool page, or a measurement made by FileConvertLab by uploading test files to the tool. The footnote on each value says which, and the date it was checked. Where a vendor publishes no figure, the cell says so instead of guessing.

Prices are shown in the currency the vendor displays and are the lowest paid plan we found; introductory discounts, regional pricing and team plans are left out. Vendors change limits without notice, so treat the dates as part of the data and check the linked page before deciding.

Where each service stands out

PDF24 is the only service in the table with no limits and no paid plan at all, financed by ads, and it ships a desktop app. Adobe Acrobat is the reference implementation of the format and the strongest choice for enterprise features, at the highest price. Smallpdf and iLovePDF offer the broadest tool catalogues and mobile apps, with the tightest free tiers of the group. Sejda's free tier is unusually generous on file size and it is the only one here with a visual PDF editor at no cost.

FileConvertLab converts up to 100 MB without an account, publishes its usage statistics and starts paid plans at the lowest price in the table, but its free tier caps documents at 20 pages until you register. The PDF format guide explains what the converters are working with.

Frequently asked questions

Why does the table say "Not stated" in some cells?

Because the vendor does not publish that figure and we could not measure it in a way we are willing to stand behind. A blank is more useful than a guess.

How often are the numbers checked?

Each fact carries the date it was last read from the vendor page or measured. The page is reviewed when a vendor changes its plans; the dates tell you how fresh a given value is.

Are the competitors' prices converted to one currency?

No. Each price is shown in the currency the vendor displays to a visitor from Europe, so Smallpdf is in Swiss francs, iLovePDF and Sejda in euros, Adobe and FileConvertLab in US dollars.

Which tool should I pick?

For a one-off conversion any of them works. For large or many files without paying, PDF24 has no caps. For an editable Word file from a scanned PDF, look at the OCR row. For automation, the API row lists who offers one.